13 MAY 2013

B

NEW FOREST DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the New Forest District Council held at Appletree Court, Lyndhurst on Monday, 13 May 2013

Councillors: Councillors:

n	Δ	R	Δ	lvev
р	А	$\mathbf{\Gamma}$	м	IVEV

p Mrs D E Andrews

p G C Beck

p Mrs S V Beeton

p Ms R Bellows

p Mrs S M Bennison

p J E Binns

p D A Britton

p Mrs D M Brooks

p S J Clarke

p Mrs J L Cleary

p G F Dart

p S P Davies

p W H Dow

p Ms L C Ford

p A T Glass

p MR Harris

p C J Harrison

p D Harrison

p E J Heron

p J D Heron

p Miss A J Hickman

p Mrs A J Hoare

p Mrs M D Holding

p Mrs P Jackman

p M J Kendal

ap A N G Kilgour

p C Lagdon

p Mrs M E Lewis

Mrs P J Lovelace

D D 1

p B D Lucas

p Mrs A E McEvov

p Mrs M McLean

p A D O'Sullivan

p NS Penman

p J Penwarden

p LR Puttock

p AW Rice

p B Rickman

p W S Rippon-Swaine

p Mrs M J Robinson

p Mrs A M Rostand

p D J Russell

p R F Scrivens

p Miss A Sevier

p M D Southgate

p A J Swain

p M H Thierry

p A R Tinsley

p DBTipp

p F P Vickers

p M S Wade

p SSWade

p R A Wappet

p Mrs C V Ward ap J G Ward

p C A Wise

p Mrs B M Woodifield

p PR Woods

p Mrs P A Wyeth

Officers Attending:

D Yates, R Jackson, J Mascall, Ms G O'Rourke, Mrs R Rutins and Ms M Stephens.

The Chairman of the Council, Cllr Mrs McEvoy, in the Chair.

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN.

Cllr Mrs McEvoy moved that Cllr Ms Ford be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year. The motion was seconded by Cllr Woods.

RESOLVED:

That Cllr Ms Ford be elected Chairman of the Council to continue in office until her successor becomes entitled to act as Chairman at the next annual meeting of the Council.

Cllr Ms Ford took the chair and made the declaration of acceptance of office, which was formally witnessed by the Chief Executive.

Cllr Mrs McEvoy invested the Chairman with the Chain and Badge of Office and presented the Chairman with a bouquet of flowers.

On behalf of employees, the Chief Executive congratulated the Chairman on her election.

The Chairman thanked members of the Council for electing her as Chairman. She said that she was looking forward to her year in office and hoped to serve the Council and its residents well.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO CLLR MRS McEVOY.

The Chairman moved a vote of thanks to the outgoing Chairman, Cllr Mrs McEvoy.

The Chairman, in paying tribute to Cllr Mrs McEvoy, said that she and her husband had been held in high esteem by colleagues and residents alike during Cllr Mrs McEvoy's term as Chairman. They had proved to be excellent ambassadors for the New Forest, and had served the Council with spirit and energy.

The motion was seconded.

Members spoke in support of the motion. They said that Cllr Mrs McEvoy had worked very hard during the year and had been very successful in charitable fundraising. She and Mr McEvoy had represented the people of the New Forest very well and were great ambassadors for the Council. Other members commented on Cllr Mrs McEvoy's eventful year and the fair manner in which she had chaired meetings. They congratulated Cllr Mrs McEvoy and her consort on a job well done.

The Chief Executive expressed his thanks to Cllr Mrs McEvoy for her work during her year as Chairman. He said that she had carried out her role as Chairman with grace and authority.

RESOLVED:

That the thanks and best wishes of the Council be recorded to Cllr Mrs McEvoy for her service during her term of office as Chairman of the Council.

Cllr Mrs McEvoy thanked members for their kind words. She said that it had been a great privilege to serve as Chairman of the Council. She had thoroughly enjoyed her time in office and was proud that her year had coincided with the Queen's Diamond Jubilee and the London Olympics. She had tried to introduce some changes to the role of Chairman and the conduct of Council meetings and hoped that her successors would continue improving the role. She thanked her Personal Assistant Donna Langfield and Rosemary Rutins for their support during her year in office.

Cllr Mrs McEvoy thanked those who had helped to raise over £10,000 for her charities Help for Heroes and The Honeypot Children's Charity. Representatives from both charities were in attendance and gratefully received their cheques from Cllr Mrs McEvoy.

3. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN.

It was moved by Cllr Mrs Wyeth and seconded by Cllr Tipp that Cllr Mrs Holding be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year.

Members spoke in support of the motion.

RESOLVED:

That Cllr Mrs Holding be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council to hold office until immediately after the election of the Chairman at the next annual meeting of the Council.

Cllr Mrs Holding made the declaration of acceptance of office, which was formally witnessed by the Chief Executive. The Chairman invested Cllr Mrs Holding with her badge of office and flowers and presented the Vice-Chairman's Consort, Mr Holding, with a gift.

Cllr Mrs Holding thanked members for her election and said that she was looking forward to her year as Vice-Chairman. She assured the Chairman of her support.

4. MINUTES (REPORT A).

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meeting held on 15 April 2013 be signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

5. CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS.

The Chairman announced that her charities for the year would be Hampshire & Isle of Wight Air Ambulance and the Young Firefighters Association (Ringwood).

6. LEADER'S ANNOUNCEMENTS.

The Leader of the Council announced that there would be no changes in Cabinet Portfolios or Portfolio Holders. Cllr E Heron would remain Deputy Leader of the Council.

7. ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO POLITICAL GROUPS (PAPER B).

RESOLVED:

That the report be received and noted.

8. MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND PANELS.

Cllr Rice announced his resignation from the General Purposes & Licensing Committee.

The Conservative Group proposed a change in the membership of the Environment Overview & Scrutiny Panel.

RESOLVED:

- (a) That Cllr Swain be appointed to serve on the Environment Overview & Scrutiny Panel in place of Cllr Ms Ford; and
- (b) That the vacancy on the General Purposes and Licensing Committee be filled at the next meeting of the Council.

CHAIRMAN

(CL130513)