

SUMMONS

To All Members of the Council

You are hereby summoned to attend the annual meeting of the District Council to be held in the Council Chamber, Appletree Court, Lyndhurst on Monday, 13 May 2013 on the rising of the special meeting of the Council to be held at 6.30 p.m.

Telephone enquiries to:

Lyndhurst (023) 8028 5000 (Direct Line 8028 5588) Melanie Stephens

Dave Yates Chief Executive

Appletree Court, Lyndhurst, Hampshire SO43 7PA

AGENDA

The Chairman of the Council (Cllr Mrs McEvoy) in the Chair.

Apologies

1. Election of Chairman

To elect a Chairman of the Council to hold office until the annual meeting in 2014.

Cllr Ms Ford has been nominated as Chairman for the ensuing year.

Declaration of acceptance of office by the Chairman and investiture of badges of office

The newly elected Chairman in the Chair.

Vote of thanks to CIIr Mrs McEvoy and presentation of badges.

2. Appointment of Vice-Chairman

To appoint a Vice-Chairman of the Council to hold office until the annual meeting in 2014.

Cllr Mrs Holding has been nominated as Vice-Chairman for the ensuing year.

Declaration of acceptance of office by the Vice-Chairman and investiture of badges of office.

3. Minutes (Paper A)

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 15 April 2013 as a correct record.

4. Chairman's Announcements

5. Leader's Announcements

6. Allocation of Seats to Political Groups (Paper B)

Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 requires the Council, at its annual meeting or as soon as practical thereafter, to review the political representation on committees and other groups such as panels to which the principles of proportionate representation, as set out in that Act, apply.

The seats currently allocated to the political groups on Committees and Panels are set out in Paper B. The overall allocation complies with the proportionality requirements.

It is recommended that the Council notes the position.

7. Membership of Committees and Panels

To consider any changes in the membership of Committees and Panels that may be proposed by the political groups. (Members of Committees and Panels were appointed for a four-year period at the annual meeting of the Council on 16 May 2011.)

8. Any other items which the Chairman decides are urgent.