21 MAY 2001

NEW FOREST DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the New Forest District Council held at Appletree Court, Lyndhurst on Monday, 21 May 2001.

Councillors:

- p Mrs S M Abernethy
- e KFAult
- p K E Austin
- e E R Bowring
- p F J Bright
- p Mrs D M Brooks
- p D S Burdle
- p W R Catt
- p J E Coles
- p D E Cracknell
- p P H Cummings
- p B D Dash
- e JJDawson
- p W H Dow
- p Miss P A Drake
- p T J Droogleever
- p L T Dunsdon
- p B C Earwicker
- p M H G Fidler
- p R L Frampton
- p Ms C F Gradidge
- p P C Greenfield
- p R C H Hale
- p L E Harris
- p F R Harrison
- p S A Hayes
- p J D Heron
- p Mrs M D Holding
- p Mrs A M Howe

Councillors:

- p J M Hoy
- p Mrs M Humber BA
- p J A G Hutchins JP
- p M J Kendal
- p M C Kidman
- p G N D Locock
- p Mrs B M Maynard
- p Mrs M McLean
- p A W Rice
- e G K Richardson
- p B Rickman
- p Mrs M J Robinson
- p B Rule
- p T M Russell
- p D N Scott
- p M J Shand
- p S A Shepherd
- p Mrs B Smith
- p Mrs L P Snashall
- p G Spikins
- p M H Thierry
- р D В Тірр
- e J Waddington
- p M S Wade
- p SSWade
- p C A Wise
- p P R Woods
- p Mrs P A Wyeth

Officers Attending:

D Yates, N J Gibbs, C Malyon, D Atwill, Ms J Bateman, Miss G O'Rourke and Mrs R Rutins.

The Chairman of the Council, Cllr Rice (in the Chair)

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN.

Cllr Wyeth moved that Cllr Drake be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year. The motion was seconded by Cllr Holding and a number of members spoke in support.

RESOLVED:

That Cllr Drake be elected Chairman of the Council to continue in office until her successor becomes entitled to act as Chairman as the next annual meeting of the Council.

Cllr Drake took the Chair and made the declaration of acceptance of office which was formally witnessed by the Chief Executive.

Cllr Rice invested the Chairman with the Chain and Badge of Office and presented her with a bouquet of flowers.

On behalf of the employees, the Chief Executive congratulated the Chairman on her election.

The Chairman thanked her fellow members for her election. The Chairman commented that her chosen charity for the year would be Canine Partners for Independence, a charity which trained dogs to help severely disabled people lead as normal lives as possible.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO CLLR RICE.

It was moved by the Chairman of the Council, seconded and

RESOLVED:

That the best wishes of the Council be recorded to Cllr Rice for his service during his term of office as Chairman of the Council.

Members spoke of the way in which Cllr Rice had undertaken his duties on behalf of the District and in particular the way he had acted as an ambassador for the Council. This combined with his friendliness and eagerness and his hard work on behalf of the Council demonstrated his enormous dedication to the office.

On behalf of all the employees the Chief Executive expressed his thanks and good wishes to Cllr Rice.

Cllr Rice thanked his fellow Councillors and in particular expressed his appreciation to his consort, Mrs Davis. He commented on the diverse nature of his role as Chairman and the great variety of people, that he had met on behalf of the Council during his year in office. The Chairman presented Cllr Rice with a Past Chairman's Badge, a photograph album depicting events from his year of office together with a Civic Plaque. She then presented Mrs Davis with a Past Consort's Badge and a bouquet of flowers.

3. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN.

It was moved by the Chairman and seconded by Cllr Rice that Cllr Hoy be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year.

RESOLVED:

That Cllr Hoy be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council to hold office until immediately after the election of the Chairman at the next annual meeting of the Council.

Cllr Hoy made the declaration of acceptance of office which was formally witnessed by the Chief Executive. The Chairman invested Cllr Hoy with his Badge of Office and presented Mrs Hoy with a bouquet of flowers.

4. APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL.

It was proposed, seconded and

RESOLVED:

That Cllr Hayes be appointed Leader of the Council for the ensuing municipal year.

5. MINUTES.

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meeting held on 23 April 2001 be signed as a correct record subject to the following being added as a final sentence to the end of minute no. 84: 'the Chairman of the Policy and Resources Committee noted that Cllr Robinson did not feel that her question had been fully answered'

6. POLICY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE.

The Chairman of the Committee presented the report of the meeting held on 16 May 2001. On the motion that the report be received and the recommendation adopted it was:-

RESOLVED:

That the report be received and the recommendation be adopted.

7. COMMITTEES AND PANELS.

RESOLVED:

That the following changes in membership of committees and panels be agreed:-

Housing Review Panel

Cllr Rice appointed in place of Cllr Holding

Crime and Disorder Review Panel

Corporate and Finance Review Panel

Economy and Planning Review Panel

Cllr Brooks appointed in place of Cllr Holding

Cllr Russell appointed in place of Cllr Thierry

Cllrs Scott and Wise appointed in place of Cllrs Drake and Holding

General Purposes and Licensing Committee

Cllr Hutchins appointed in place of Cllr Brooks

8. POLITICAL REPRESENTATION ON COMMITTEES.

RESOLVED:

That, in accordance with Section 15(1)(b) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the position in relation to the representation of political groups on committees be noted.

9. CONSTITUTION OF CABINET AND PORTFOLIO'S.

RESOLVED:

That the number and content of Cabinet Portfolio's and members to be appointed to the Advisory Cabinet be as detailed below and as shown at Appendix 1 to these minutes.

Policy and Strategy – Cllr Hayes

Crime and Disorder – Cllr Cummings

Economy and Planning – Cllr Droogleever

Environment – Cllr Waddington

Finance and Support – Cllr Kendal

Housing – Cllr Greenfield

Leisure – Cllr Rickman

Member Without Portfolio – Cllr Holding

10. TIME OF MEETINGS.

RESOLVED:

That in 2001/2002 ordinary meetings of the Council continue to be held at 6.30 p.m.

CHAIRMAN

Attachment:

Minute No. 9 – Appendix 1

(DEMOCRAT/CL210501/MINUTES.DOC)