18 MAY 1998

NEW FOREST DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the annual meeting of the New Forest District Council held at Appletree Court, Lyndhurst on Monday, 18 May 1998.

Councillors:

- p K E Austin
- p Mrs O A M Badland
- e S Bailey
- p P A Baker
- p Mrs P D Baker
- p Major C Beeton MBE
- p Mrs C A Bianchi
- E R Bowring
- p D S Burdle
- p J E Coles
- e Miss S A Cooke
- p M R Cox
- p D E Cracknell
- p W F Croydon
- p B D Dash
- p G Dawson
- p JJDawson
- p Miss P A Drake
- p KW Drew
- p B C Earwicker
- p A S Emery
- e Mrs L K Errington
- e R K Goodridge
- p W J Greer
- p R C H Hale
- p L E Harris
- p D Harrison
- p F R Harrison
- p S A Hayes

Councillors:

- p Mrs A M Howe
- p J M Hoy
- p J A G Hutchins JP
- p M R Jones
- p M J Kendal
- p G N D Locock
- p Mrs B M Maynard
- p N D M McGeorge
- p Mrs M McLean
- p S M Noel
- p R F Orton
- p P G Pearce-Smith
- C G Ramsden
- p A W Rice TD
- p B Rickman
- e Miss G M Rickus CBE
- p Mrs M J Robinson
- p D N Scott
- p Lt Col M J Shand
- p S A Shepherd
- p Mrs B Smith
- p Mrs L P Snashall
- p G Spikins
- p Mrs J K Vernon-Jackson MBE JP DL
- p M S Wade
- p SSWade
- e Dr M N Whitehead
- e Mrs D Wilson
- p Mrs P A Wyeth

Officers Attending:

I B Mackintosh, N J Gibbs, D A Gurney, Ms E Malcolm, Mrs A Allport, K Ireland and T Simpson.

The Chairman of the Council (Cllr Hutchins) in the Chair.

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN.

Cllr Hutchins moved that Cllr Howe be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

The motion was seconded by Cllr Coles and a number of members spoke in support.

RESOLVED:

That Cllr Howe be elected Chairman of the Council to continue in office until her successor becomes entitled to act as Chairman at the next annual meeting of the Council of 24 May 1999.

Cllr Howe took the chair and made the declaration of acceptance of office, which was formally witnessed by the Director of Finance and Administration.

Cllr Hutchins invested the Chairman with the Chain and Badge of Office and presented her with a bouquet of flowers. Cllr Hutchins also invested the Chairman's consort with his Badge of Office.

On behalf of the staff, the Managing Director congratulated the Chairman on her election.

The Chairman thanked her fellow members for her election and pledged to uphold the respect and dignity due to the position.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO COUNCILLOR HUTCHINS.

It was moved by the Chairman of the Council, seconded and unanimously

RESOLVED:

That the best wishes of this Council be recorded to Cllr Hutchins for his outstanding service during his term of office as Chairman of the Council and that he be wished every success for the future.

Members spoke of the way in which Cllr Hutchins had undertaken his duties on behalf of the District. He had earned universal respect and had proved to be a fair and impartial Chairman.

On behalf of all the staff, the Managing Director expressed his thanks and good wishes to Cllr Hutchins.

Cllr Hutchins thanked his fellow councillors for allowing him to undertake the role as Chairman during the preceding year.

The Chairman presented Cllr Hutchins with a past Chairman's badge, a photograph album depicting events from his year of office and a civic plaque. She then presented his consort with a past consort's badge and a bouquet of flowers.

3. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN.

It was moved by the Chairman and seconded by Cllr Robinson that Cllr F R Harrison be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council.

RESOLVED:

That Cllr F R Harrison be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council to hold office until immediately after the election of the Chairman at the next annual meeting of the Council on 24 May 1999.

Cllr F R Harrison made the declaration of acceptance of office, which was formally witnessed by the Director of Finance and Administration. The Chairman invested Cllr F R Harrison with his Badge of Office. She also presented Mrs Harrison with the Consort's Badge and a bouquet of flowers. Cllr F R Harrison thanked members for his appointment.

4. MINUTES.

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meeting held on 27 April 1998, having been circulated, be signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

5. CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS.

(a) **Cllr Errington**

The Chairman reported that Cllr Errington, who had recently been admitted to hospital with chest pains, was making good progress and wished her a continuing recovery.

(b) Cllr Rickus

The Chairman wished Cllr Rickus a speedy recovery following her hip replacement operation.

(c) Mr A Maddex

It was with regret that the Chairman had to announce that Mr A Maddex, the Commercial Waste Officer, had died after a short illness. All stood in his memory.

(d) Mr R Long

The Chairman wished Mr R Long a long and happy retirement. As well as being a senior partner with a firm of solicitors, Mr Long had been a Director and Company Secretary of the New Forest Industrial Association. The Chairman expressed her thanks for his expertise and advice, which he had freely given the Association over the years.

6. POLITICAL REPRESENTATION ON COMMITTEES.

RESOLVED:

That no change be made to the political representation on committees.

7. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN OF POLICY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE.

RESOLVED:

That Cllr Coles be appointed Chairman of Policy and Resources Committee to hold office until the annual meeting in 1999.

8. TERMS OF REFERENCE OF POLICY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE.

RESOLVED:

That advising on appointments to committees be deleted from paragraph 7 of Policy and Resources Committee's terms of reference.

9. APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES.

It was reported that if Cllr Jones was appointed to Environmental Services and Licensing Committee, he could no longer serve on Direct Services Contracts Committee. Accordingly, the Conservative Group had made additional nominations.

RESOLVED:

That, until the normal day of retirement of Councillors in 1999 -

- (a) Cllr G Dawson be appointed to Planning and Transportation Committee in place of Cllr Smith;
- (b) Cllr Ramsden be appointed to Central Services Committee in place of Cllr Jones;
- (c) Cllr Jones be appointed to Environmental Services and Licensing Committee in place of Cllr Drake;
- (d) Cllr Scott be appointed to Direct Services Contracts Committee in place of Cllr Jones;
- (e) Cllr Beeton be appointed to Business Services Contracts Committee in place of Cllr Scott;
- (f) Cllr Drake be appointed to Leisure Services Committee in place of Cllr Goodridge;
- (g) Cllrs Hayes and Scott be appointed to Policy and Resources Committee in place of Cllrs Beeton and Goodridge respectively.

10. COUNCILLOR AMBASSADORS.

In response to a query, it was confirmed that the principle of appointing ambassadors had been approved at the last meeting of the Council.

RESOLVED.

That the following Ambassadors be appointed to take specific responsibility at a strategic level for the particular topic areas shown:

Cllr P A Baker - Sustainability and Local Agenda 21 Cllr D Harrison - Equal Opportunities Cllr McGeorge - Community Safety Cllr McLean - Poverty Cllr Shepherd - Economic Development Cllr Whitehead - Health

11. TIMES OF MEETINGS.

RESOLVED:

That meetings of Central Services Committee continue to be held in the evening.

CHAIRMAN

cl180598